RELATED ARTICLES
Illinois marriage requirements
Wisconsin marriage requirements

 
LINKS
Legals Home
Wisconsin marriage requirements

If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Wisconsin put a dent in your wedding plans.

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Wisconsin marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!

PLEASE NOTE!! Requirements may vary as each county in Wisconsin could have their own requirements. Check with your County Clerk for changes and clarifications in the requirements before you leave home to apply for your marriage license.

ID Requirement:

You must bring your driver's license with your current address or two pieces of mail with your current address, Social Security Number, and have a certified copy of your birth certificate.

Know your parents full names, mothers' maiden names. Make sure you have the date and place of your marriage ceremony and the name, address and phone number of the officiant.

Make sure you contact your County Clerk's office prior to leaving to get your marriage license. Some counties have different requirements as to required documents.

Residency Requirement:

One of you needs to have resided for at least 30 days in the Wisconsin county where you are applying. If you are from out-of-state, you must apply in the county where the ceremony will take place.

Previous Marriages:

In Wisconsin, you must show proof of divorce, death, or civil annulment from your most recent marriage.

You need to wait six months after a divorce before getting remarried.

Bring a copy of judgment of divorce, legal annulment or death certificate from your most recent marriage.

Waiting Period in Wisconsin:

There is a waiting period of five days in Wisconsin, exclusive of the day you apply -- so it is really like six days. Check with the County Clerk's office for more information.

"BEST "RULE OF THUMB" (considering weekends, etc.): Apply no less than 7 days before and no more than 35 days before the ceremony."

Source: Walworth County

Covenant Marriage Option

No.

Fees in Wisconsin:

Although the fees for a marriage license in Wisconsin vary from county to county, the average cost is $80.00. Be prepared to pay in cash. Check with the County Clerk in your county to know what the fee will be.

Other Tests:

Wisconsin does not require that you take any blood tests.

Proxy Marriages:

No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Wisconsin.

Cousin Marriages:

No. Cousin marriages are generally not allowed in Wisconsin, though depending on certain circumstances, such as when the bride is 55 years of age or older, cousins may be allowed to marry. Check with the County Clerk for clarification of your own situation.

Common Law Marriages:

No. Common law marriages are not recognized in Wisconsin.

Same Sex Marriages:

No.

Under 18:

If either the bride or groom is under 18, you must have written, notarized consent from his or her parents or guardian. There is a Consent form available to be signed by parents or guardian before a County Clerk.

If either of you are under the age of 16, you may not get married in Wisconsin.

Officiants in Wisconsin:

Ordained member of the clergy, a judge, a court commissioner, or certain religious appointees. You and your prospective spouse may officiate under established customs or rules of some religions.

Miscellaneous:

A Wisconsin marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days.